
USB coordinators
Sonoff Dongle Plus MG24 Zigbee/Thread USB coordinator (Dongle-PMG24)
- Radio chip
- Silicon Labs EFR32MG24
- Antenna
- External, fixed (folding)
- Transmit power
- 20 dBm
Sonoff · CC2531
Zigbee coordinator · CC2531ZNP-Prod (Z-Stack ZNP, for Zigbee2MQTT); version not stated
This is a Zigbee coordinator: check support in ZHA or Zigbee2MQTT.
Manufacturer images
For Zigbee2MQTT experiments and a small network this legacy CC2531 dongle still does the job — no external antenna and no official USB flashing tool.
15 specifications from manufacturer documentsWe deliver across Moldova. Availability, delivery timing and cost are confirmed with a manager before order fulfilment.
The right choice starts with specifications
SKU: SONOFF-CC2531 · Document model: CC2531 USB Dongle
Specifications checked against the linked manufacturer documents.Checked 18 October 2026
Connectivity — what it meansThe wireless link or network the device uses. Wi-Fi connects straight to the router; Zigbee, Thread and Bluetooth Mesh work through a hub or gateway. | ZigbeeIEEE 802.15.4 / ZigBee per the maker's description [1] |
|---|---|
Compatible software — what it meansWhich smart-home software the coordinator works with according to the maker's documentation: ZHA and Zigbee2MQTT for Zigbee, OpenThread Border Router for Thread, Z-Wave JS for Z-Wave. The coordinator only works together with such software on a server or mini PC. | Zigbee2MQTTThe maker names only Zigbee2MQTT: the dongle is pre-flashed with CC2531ZNP-Prod and ready for the 'Running Zigbee2mqtt' step. No other software is named on the page [1] |
Transmit power — what it meansThe coordinator's maximum radio output. Higher power gives a steadier link to distant devices, but range in a home depends more on walls and the number of routers in the network. | 4.5 dBmMaximum of the CC2531 chip per the chip maker Texas Instruments (programmable output power up to 4.5 dBm). ITEAD/SONOFF do not publish the dongle's own figure [2] |
Antenna — what it meansAn external detachable antenna can be turned or replaced with another; an internal one sits inside the housing. The antenna gain (dBi) is in the note. | Built-in (on the board)Printed meandered F-antenna on the board, per the official diagram. Gain not published [1] |
Wireless range — what it meansThe stated radio range, usually in open space. Walls and floors cut it noticeably. | Not stated by the manufacturer |
Network devices (per maker) — what it meansHow many devices the maker says a network with this coordinator can handle. The real limit depends on firmware and the number of routers in the network; direct connections to the stick itself are usually fewer. | Not stated by the manufacturer |
Radio chip — what it meansThe chip that handles the radio link. It determines which firmware is available, support in Zigbee2MQTT, ZHA and Z-Wave JS, and the memory headroom for large networks. Silicon Labs (EFR32) and Texas Instruments (CC) chips use different firmware and drivers. | Texas Instruments CC2531The official board diagram names the CC2531F256 variant [1] |
|---|---|
Radio chip memory (Flash / RAM) — what it meansThe chip's flash and RAM size. More memory leaves room for the routing tables of large networks and for future firmware, including Thread and Matter. | 256 KB Flash / 8 KB RAMFor the CC2531F256 variant named on the board diagram; sizes per Texas Instruments [2] |
USB-to-serial chip — what it meansThe chip through which the radio talks to the computer over USB. CP210x and CH9102 drivers are already in Linux and Home Assistant OS; on Windows they sometimes need installing manually. On some sticks USB is built into the radio chip itself. | Built into the radio chipCC2531 is a system-on-chip with built-in USB (Texas Instruments); the official board diagram shows no separate USB-to-serial chip [2] |
| Debug connector | 10-pin (GND, DC, DD, RESETn, Vdd) [1] |
Operating modes (firmware) — what it meansWhich role the radio can take with the maker's official firmware: a Zigbee coordinator creates and runs the network, a Zigbee router only extends an existing one, a Thread radio (RCP) works with an OpenThread border router, and MultiPAN runs Zigbee and Thread on one chip at once. | Zigbee coordinatorShips with CC2531ZNP-Prod coordinator firmware. The page also mentions use as a packet sniffer, but the maker provides no separate sniffer firmware [1] |
|---|---|
Factory firmware — what it meansThe firmware the stick ships with: the stack and, where stated, its version (e.g. EmberZNet or Z-Stack). It decides which driver to pick in Zigbee2MQTT or ZHA on first connection. | CC2531ZNP-Prod (Z-Stack ZNP, for Zigbee2MQTT); version not stated [1] |
Firmware update method — what it meansHow firmware is changed or updated. Over USB it takes a few minutes from a browser or a Home Assistant add-on; older sticks need a separate hardware programmer. | Not stated by the manufacturer |
| Buttons and indicators | 2 buttons (S1, S2), 2 LEDs [1] |
USB connector — what it meansWhether the stick plugs straight into a USB-A port or connects by cable to a USB-C socket on its housing. The radio is best kept away from USB 3.0 ports and the computer case; an extension cable is used for that. | USB-A plugThe board plugs straight into a USB-A port (official photos) [1] |
|---|---|
Dimensions — what it meansThe device’s size in millimetres as the maker states it. Check that it fits the wall box, niche or shelf. | 56 × 16 × 7 mm [1] |
Weight — what it meansThe device’s weight without packaging, per the maker. | 6 g [1] |
Power source — what it meansWhere the device gets its power: 230 V mains, an adapter, USB, batteries or a built-in battery. | From the AC's USB socketPowered from the USB port of a PC or Raspberry Pi [1] |
|---|
We deliver across Moldova. Availability, delivery timing and cost are confirmed with a manager before order fulfilment.
A website order is submitted for confirmation without charging your card. The payment method and final amount are agreed with a manager before payment.
The warranty is at least 12 months. The exact period and conditions for equipment and installation work are stated in the sales documents and the accepted proposal. Further support is agreed for each project.
Current conditions are published on the Return policy page. Email office@casasmart.md with your order number for the steps relevant to your situation. Statutory consumer rights continue to apply.
In your home
A fast broadband plan does not fix weak signal through a wall. Several apps do not become one system by themselves. Placement and verified connections matter.
See the complete solution
CasaSmart

USB coordinators

USB coordinators
Model: Dongle-LMG21
Manufacturer photo (series)Series photoUSB coordinators
Manufacturer photo (series)Series photoUSB coordinators
Buy just a device, add installation, or hand the whole project over to us.