Showroom: 153 Columna St, ChișinăuDelivery across MoldovaInstallation and setup by our own team+373 76 004 003ViberWhatsAppTelegram

Sonoff · Dongle-MZG23

Sonoff Dongle-MZG23 (Dongle Max) Z-Wave 800 network controller, PoE

1,349 MDLIn stock
Network coordinators
Z-Wave
Z-Wave

Silicon Labs EFR32ZG23 (Z-Wave 800) · Z-Wave JS, openHAB

1,349 MDLIn stock
Buy with installation
Check compatibility
Connectivity
Z-Wave
Radio chips
Silicon Labs EFR32ZG23 (Z-Wave 800)
Connection to the server
Ethernet, PoE (power and data on one cable), Wi-Fi, USB

Sonoff Dongle Max (Dongle-MZG23) Z-Wave 800 network controller for Home Assistant via Z-Wave JS. Power: 5 V ⎓ 1 A via USB Type-C or 48 V ⎓ 0.25 A via PoE; colour: dim grey.

35 specifications from manufacturer documents

We deliver across Moldova. Availability, delivery timing and cost are confirmed with a manager before order fulfilment.

The right choice starts with specifications

Device passport

Document model: Dongle-MZG23

Specifications checked against the linked manufacturer documents.Checked 18 October 2026

Connectivity and compatibility21
Connectivity — what it means

The wireless link or network the device uses. Wi-Fi connects straight to the router; Zigbee, Thread and Bluetooth Mesh work through a hub or gateway.

Z-WaveZ-Wave 800 with Z-Wave Long Range and S2 security. The frequency depends on the region (860–930 MHz); in Europe it is 868.4 / 869.85 MHz, so Z-Wave devices must match your region's frequency. Wi-Fi is only used for the server link [1]
Number of radios — what it means

How many independent radio chips are inside. With two, Zigbee and Thread run at the same time, each on its own channel; with one, the protocol is chosen by firmware.

1The Z-Wave radio is the EFR32ZG23. The second chip, an ESP32, only handles Wi-Fi and Ethernet for the server link [2]
Radio chips — what it means

The radio chip model (both chips on dual-radio models). It determines the available firmware, support in Zigbee2MQTT and ZHA, Thread capability and memory headroom for large networks. Texas Instruments (CC) and Silicon Labs (EFR32) chips use different firmware and update methods.

Silicon Labs EFR32ZG23 (Z-Wave 800)EFR32ZG23 (512 KB flash, 64 KB RAM, ARM Cortex-M33 core). Wi-Fi/Ethernet bridge: ESP32-D0WDR2-V3; USB-UART converter: CP2102(N) [2]
Connection to the server — what it means

How the coordinator talks to Home Assistant or another server. With Ethernet and PoE it can sit in the middle of the house, far from the server; Wi-Fi needs no cable but depends on wireless quality; USB plugs straight into the server.

Ethernet, PoE (power and data on one cable), Wi-Fi, USBIf both Ethernet and Wi-Fi are connected, Ethernet takes priority. Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz only. The web console is only available over Ethernet or Wi-Fi [3]
Compatible software — what it means

Which smart-home software the coordinator works with according to the maker's documentation: ZHA and Zigbee2MQTT for Zigbee, OpenThread Border Router for Thread, Z-Wave JS for Z-Wave. The coordinator only works together with such software on a server or mini PC.

Z-Wave JS, openHAB [1]
Transmit power — what it means

The coordinator's maximum radio output. Higher power gives a steadier link to distant devices, but range in a home depends more on walls and the number of routers in the network.

20 dBmMaximum per the hardware specification, plus 2 dBi antenna gain [2]
Antenna — what it means

An external detachable antenna can be turned or replaced with another; an internal one sits inside the housing. The antenna gain (dBi) is in the note.

External, detachableTwo external adjustable antennas; the user screws them onto the ends of the housing (included). Gain: 3 dBi on the product page, 2 dBi in the hardware specification [5]
Home Assistant — what it means

How the device connects to Home Assistant: a built-in integration, a Zigbee coordinator, Matter or the maker’s cloud integration.

Native integrationThrough the built-in Z-Wave JS integration. Two Z-Wave adapters cannot share one integration; a second one needs a separate integration such as Z-Wave JS UI. The dongle's own status can be shown in Home Assistant via MQTT [1]
Max connected devices — what it means

How many devices can run on this coordinator's network according to the manufacturer. If the figure is for direct connections and the network grows through routers, this is noted.

Not stated by the manufacturer
Wireless range — what it means

The stated radio range, usually in open space. Walls and floors cut it noticeably.

300 mZ-Wave mesh, open space with direct line of sight. With Z-Wave Long Range devices: up to 1000 m line of sight, point-to-point [2]
Wi-Fi
IEEE 802.11 b/g/n, 2.4 GHz [1]
Ethernet port
RJ45Port speed is not stated [1]
Ports and slots
USB Type-C [1]
Processor / radio chip — what it means

The microcontroller or radio module inside, per the maker (for example ESP32). For firmware such as WLED and ESPHome it determines available features and whether the device can be re-flashed.

EFR32ZG23 (Z-Wave) + ESP32-D0WDR2-V3 (Wi-Fi/Ethernet); USB-UART: CP2102(N) [2]
Radio chip memory
512 KB flash, 64 KB RAM [8]
Radio frequencies and transmit power
860–930 MHz, region-dependent; Europe: 868.4 / 869.85 MHz (mesh), 864.0 / 866.0 MHz (Long Range)US: 908.42 / 916 MHz (mesh), 912 / 920 MHz (LR); Australia: 919.8 / 921.4 MHz [2]
Z-Wave Long Range distance
1000 mIn open space, with direct line of sight [2]
Z-Wave security
S2 [1]
Output power (EU documents)
Wi-Fi ≤ 20 dBm, Z-Wave ≤ 14 dBm [9]
Number of antennas — what it means

How many antennas the device has; whether they are external or built-in and how they are split between bands is in the note. The antenna count alone is not the same as coverage, which also depends on transmitter power, walls and placement.

2 [1]
Supported operating systems
Windows, Ubuntu, Raspberry Pi OS, Docker [2]
Control and features3
Operating modes (firmware) — what it means

Which role the radio can take with the maker's official firmware: a Zigbee coordinator creates and runs the network, a Zigbee router only extends an existing one, a Thread radio (RCP) works with an OpenThread border router, and MultiPAN runs Zigbee and Thread on one chip at once.

Z-Wave controllerOnly SONOFF-provided firmware can be installed; updates come from the web console (with automatic updates), the SONOFF Dongle Flasher web tool or the Home Assistant add-on [4]
Management and updates — what it means

What is available for managing the coordinator itself: a web interface in the browser, firmware updates over the network without removing the device, VPN for remote access.

Web interface, firmware updates over the network, VPN (e.g. WireGuard)Local web console (Dongle-MZG23.local); firmware updates from the web console, with automatic updates; WireGuard VPN for remote access [6]
Additional functions
Webhooks (backups and alerts), MQTT, Wi-Fi access point, gateway for eWeLink-Remote remotes, Wi-Fi channel energy scan, IP whitelist, backup and restore [6]
Power4
Power source — what it means

Where the device gets its power: 230 V mains, an adapter, USB, batteries or a built-in battery.

PoE (over Ethernet), USBPoE: 48 V ⎓ 0.25 A via the RJ45 port; USB-C: 5 V ⎓ 1 A from an adapter or the server's USB port. The maker does not state the PoE standard (802.3af/at) [1]
Rated power — what it means

The rated or maximum power draw from the spec sheet. It sets the load on the socket and the energy use.

Not stated by the manufacturer
Supply voltage — what it means

The supply voltage (and current, if stated) as the maker gives it. It must match your mains or adapter.

5 V ⎓ 1 A (USB-C) or 48 V ⎓ 0.25 A (PoE) [1]
Standby power — what it means

How much power the device draws on its own while idle. It matters for devices that run around the clock.

0.06 WStated as 60 mW [2]
Housing and installation5
Mounting — what it means

How and where it is installed: in a wall box, on a wall or ceiling, on a DIN rail, on a table or in a socket.

On a table or shelf, adhesive tape, screw-fixed (surface)On a table or shelf, with double-sided tape, or on a screw-fixed bracket (bracket, screws and tape included). The maker also provides 3D-printable stand files [5]
Dimensions — what it means

The device’s size in millimetres as the maker states it. Check that it fits the wall box, niche or shelf.

169 × 32.5 × 22 mmHousing without antennas; height with the antennas upright is 175 mm (maker's drawing) [2]
Weight — what it means

The device’s weight without packaging, per the maker.

102 gNet weight per the maker's catalogue; whether the antennas are included is not stated [7]
Housing material
Aluminium alloy, PC+ABSThe aluminium housing passed a 24-hour salt-spray test (per the maker) [7]
Certifications — what it means

Standards and certifications the maker lists for this model (for example CE, RoHS, Zigbee 3.0, Matter).

CE, FCC, RoHSEU declaration of conformity (Directive 2014/53/EU) in the quick guide [7]
Operating conditions2
Operating temperature — what it means

The air temperature range the device is rated for. The lower limit matters outdoors, on balconies and in unheated rooms.

−10…60 °C [2]
Operating humidity — what it means

The rated relative humidity range, non-condensing.

5–95%Relative humidity (RH) [2]
Model and version1
Colour — what it means

The housing colour of this model. Other colours in the same series are separate products.

GreyDim gray [1]
Package contents1
Package contents — what it means

What comes in the box, per the maker.

Z-Wave 800 Dongle Max, 2 antennas, USB Type-C cable (1 m), bracket, 2 screw packs, 2 double-sided tape pads, quick guideThe antennas are listed on the Getting Started page; no PoE injector or power adapter is included [4]

Differences between manufacturer documents

The table shows the primary document’s value. Below is what other manufacturer documents state; we check the supplied version’s label before sale.

  • Transmit power: The EU quick guide states a Z-Wave output power of no more than 14 dBm

Clear purchase details

Delivery and stock

We deliver across Moldova. Availability, delivery timing and cost are confirmed with a manager before order fulfilment.

How is payment handled?

A website order is submitted for confirmation without charging your card. The payment method and final amount are agreed with a manager before payment.

Warranty and documents

The warranty is at least 12 months. The exact period and conditions for equipment and installation work are stated in the sales documents and the accepted proposal. Further support is agreed for each project.

Can I return the product?

Current conditions are published on the Return policy page. Email office@casasmart.md with your order number for the steps relevant to your situation. Statutory consumer rights continue to apply.

Delivery, payment and returns

In your home

A reliable connection underpins your smart home.

A fast broadband plan does not fix weak signal through a wall. Several apps do not become one system by themselves. Placement and verified connections matter.

See the complete solution
A home office with a laptop and a network cabinet in the wall
An example routineConnectivity planned for every room.
  1. Wired backbone
  2. Access points by zone
  3. Coverage checked

What to check before buying

  • We clarify the floor area and number of levels, where the provider’s router sits, which rooms matter for work and video, and whether cable can be run. Real speed also depends on your internet plan and the device itself.
  • Power — PoE (over Ethernet), USB: plan it for the mounting spot.

CasaSmart

We can handle installation.

  • Check connection requirements
  • Agree components and work costs
  • Configure and demonstrate the controls
Request installation quote

Similar devices

Sonoff Z-Wave 800 Dongle Plus (Dongle-PZG23) USB coordinator for Home Assistant

Sonoff

Z-Wave
Z-Wave

Silicon Labs EFR32ZG23 (Z-Wave 800) · Z-Wave JS, openHAB

USB coordinators

Sonoff Z-Wave 800 Dongle Plus (Dongle-PZG23) USB coordinator for Home Assistant

Radio chip
Silicon Labs EFR32ZG23 (Z-Wave 800)
Antenna
External, fixed (folding)
Compatible software
Z-Wave JS, openHAB
1,299 MDL
In stock
Sonoff SwitchMan R5W scene controller, 6 buttons, eWeLink-Remote, white

Sonoff

Scene buttons & remotes

Sonoff SwitchMan R5W scene controller, 6 buttons, eWeLink-Remote, white

Connectivity
eWeLink-Remote (Sonoff)
Number of keys
6
Power source
Batteries
349 MDL
In stock
Sonoff SwitchMan R5 scene controller, 6 buttons, eWeLink-Remote, dim gray

Sonoff

Scene buttons & remotes

Sonoff SwitchMan R5 scene controller, 6 buttons, eWeLink-Remote, dim gray

Connectivity
eWeLink-Remote (Sonoff)
Number of keys
6
Power source
Batteries
349 MDL
In stock
Xiaomi Mi Router 4A (DVB4230GL) Wi-Fi 5 AC1200 router, 100 Mbps ports

Xiaomi

Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi

Wi-Fi 5 (802.11ac) · Parental control, one network name for both bands, Wi-Fi schedule

Check the supported network band.

Ethernet
Ethernet

Wired connection to the local network.

Wi-Fi routers

Xiaomi Mi Router 4A (DVB4230GL) Wi-Fi 5 AC1200 router, 100 Mbps ports

Wi-Fi generation
Wi-Fi 5 (802.11ac)
Combined Wi-Fi rate
1167 Mbps
WAN (internet) port speed
100 Mbps
499 MDL
2 left

Tell us what you need.

Buy just a device, add installation, or hand the whole project over to us.

Discuss your needs